The CAS Institute Welcomes Nine Additional CSPA Designees

July 13, 2017

The CAS Institute (iCAS), a subsidiary of the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) offering credentials and educational opportunities for professionals working in highly specialized quantitative practice areas, is pleased to welcome nine additional recipients of its Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA) credential. The CSPA credential provides evidence of practical knowledge in applied predictive analytics and data science as used in data-intensive industry sectors; these predictive analytics professionals were awarded the CSPA credential in recognition of their standing as experienced practitioners in the field.

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA) Recipients

July 2017

Terry Alfuth, CSPA, FCAS, MAAA, FCA – Actuarial Property & Casualty Consulting LLC
Linda Brobeck, CSPA, FCAS, MAAA – Pinnacle Actuarial Resources, Inc.
Kin Yee Chan, CSPA, PhD. – Allstate Insurance Company
W. Scott Farris, CSPA – State Farm Insurance Companies
Patrick Ford, CSPA, FCAS – Liberty Mutual Insurance
Christopher Hurst, CSPA, FCAS, MAAA – Midwest Employers Casualty Company
Scott Stelljes, CSPA, ACAS – Country Financial
William Stergiou, CSPA – CNA Insurance Companies
James Weiss, CSPA, FCAS, CPCU – ISO (Verisk Analytics)

New recipients commented on their choice to pursue the credential:

The CSPA credential signals to your stakeholders that you have expertise in predictive modeling, general analytics, and data management within an insurance context,” said Patrick Ford, FCAS, CSPA, actuary at Liberty Mutual Insurance. “Personally, these are areas within which I want to continue developing and demonstrating thought leadership, and I believe the CSPA credential will help to afford me such opportunity in my career.”

With today’s computing power and data availability, predictive analytics has become a mainstream – and critical – component of a successful business strategy. I’m glad to see the intentional pursuit and prioritization of these skills by The CAS Institute!” Christopher Hurst, FCAS, CSPA, MAAA, director of actuarial services at Midwest Employers Casualty Company, added. “Even though the actuarial exams provide some emphasis in modeling, I decided to pursue this designation to be part of a focused group of like-minded individuals for my own professional development and to be a contributor to the CAS’ efforts in this space.”

 Jim Weiss, FCAS, CSPA, MAAA, CPCU, director of analytic solutions at ISO, also added, “The CSPA credential is a noble pursuit for the analytically inclined insurance professional. Predictive analytics provides an incredibly useful framework to better understand and prepare for future outcomes.  The CSPA designation allows me to benchmark myself with the state-of-the-art and participate in a vibrant community devoted to practicing analytics responsibly and impactfully.”

The CAS Institute is continuing to accept applications for the CSPA credential from experienced practitioners through November 30, 2017. More information about the CSPA education program and the experienced practitioner application process can be found on the iCAS website.


How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials