ISCM and The CAS Institute Welcome First Class of Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professionals (CCRMP)

June 26, 2019

Arlington, Va., June 26, 2019 – The International Society of Catastrophe Managers (ISCM), an association promoting catastrophe management professionalism within the insurance industry, and The CAS Institute (iCAS), a subsidiary of the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) offering specialty credentials, today announced the first class of Catastrophe Risk Professionals to receive the Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP) designation.

Last November the organizations introduced two new credentials for catastrophe risk professionals, the Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) and the Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP). The two credentials build upon knowledge and practice in this field and provide a benchmark for knowledge and skills in catastrophe risk.

Thirteen catastrophe risk professionals were awarded the CCRMP credential in recognition of their competence as experienced practitioners in the field:

Mark Bove, CCRMP Munich Re
John Elbl, CCRMP Cabrillo Coastal General Insurance
David Keeton, CCRMP Avoca Risk Underwriting Solutions
Howard Kunst, CCRMP CoreLogic
Randall Law, CCRMP Chubb
Minchong Mao, CCRMP Aon
Stephen Mildenhall, CCRMP St. John’s University
Paul Miller, CCRMP Aon
Rade Musulin, CCRMP FB Alliance Insurance
James Rehbit, CCRMP Munich Re
Julie Serakos, CCRMP BMS Re US
Craig Tillman, CCRMP Renaissance Re
Shari Zola, CCRMP Munich Re

“Our new credentials highlight the continued importance of the catastrophe risk professional in today’s world,” said ISCM President David Keeton. “With increasing populations at risk of natural perils and increasing weather variability around the world, Catastrophe Risk Managers are uniquely positioned to help manage and mitigate the impact of Catastrophe Risks.”

“The CAS Institute is thrilled to begin awarding the CCRMP designation to these esteemed professionals in catastrophe management. We are excited to continue partnering with ISCM to provide resources to this growing community that is setting the definitive professional standard in catastrophe risk management,” said iCAS President Joanne Spalla.

ISCM and iCAS are continuing to invite nominations for the CCRMP through the Experienced Industry Professional Pathway. Those who do not meet the experience requirements can earn the credential by examination, and the first and second exams for the CSCR designation are now available through The Institutes. Additional information about credential requirements can be found at

About the International Society of Catastrophe Managers

The International Society of Catastrophe Managers (ISCM) is a professional association that promotes catastrophe management professionalism within the insurance industry. The ISCM is a global organization with members in over 25 countries and provides forums for exchange of ideas, understanding current catastrophe management issues, and networking among catastrophe managers.

About The CAS Institute

The CAS Institute (iCAS) empowers quantitative professionals in the insurance industry by providing innovative, rigorous, and trusted credentials backed by the Casualty Actuarial Society’s globally recognized educational standards, as well as the specialized knowledge and resources that analytics professionals need to impact their organizations and their careers. Learn more at

How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials