The CAS Institute Designates 100th Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics

January 25, 2018

Arlington, Va., January 25, 2018 – The CAS Institute (iCAS) is pleased to announce that it has now qualified over 100 designees of the Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA) credential. The CSPA, which provides evidence of practical knowledge in applied predictive analytics and data science as used in data-intensive industry sectors, was launched in 2017 to meet the needs of an increasingly data-driven insurance industry. The CAS Institute is backed by the Casualty Actuarial Society’s globally recognized educational standards and offers practitioners and employers the opportunity to certify quantitative expertise in a growing range of areas.

The list of CSPA designees includes practitioners from Canada, Israel, Italy, and across the United States. CSPA holders are employed by a variety of insurance companies and consulting firms, such as AIG, Allstate, American Family, AON, CNA Insurance, Deloitte, Farmers, The Hartford, ISO (Verisk Analytics), Liberty Mutual, Milliman, Munich Re, Pinnacle Actuarial Resources, QBE North America, State Farm, Willis Towers Watson and Zurich North America.

“We are proud to reach this noteworthy milestone,” said Brian Brown, president of the CAS.  “The caliber of our current CSPAs, in addition to the increasing interest for the credential both domestically and internationally, shows how far the need for predictive analytics certification reaches. We look forward to providing even more professional resources to this growing population of practitioners in the coming years.”

“The CSPA – and all of The CAS Institute’s efforts – would not be possible without the tireless efforts of our subject matter experts and other dedicated volunteers,” stated Amy Brener, iCAS director. “Their work has ensured that the credential is held to the highest standard – and that our offerings will continue to meet a critical need for both practitioners and employers.”

The most recent recipients of the CSPA credential will be honored at the CAS Ratemaking, Product and Modeling (RPM) Seminar in Chicago, IL, March 19-21, where iCAS will also be hosting its second annual Predictive Analytics and Data Science Community of Practice event.

The requirements for earning the CSPA credential include completing two online courses, passing three exams, and completing a case study project. The comprehensive curriculum, established and developed by industry thought leaders and experts in the field, covers property-casualty insurance fundamentals, data concepts and visualization, predictive modeling methods and techniques, and professionalism and ethics. Analytics practitioners who have five or more years of experience in the field are encouraged to apply for the CSPA credential via the Experienced Practitioner Pathway through June 30, 2018. For a complete list of CSPA recipients to date, visit the iCAS website.

How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials