Important Announcement for Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) Candidates

January 31, 2023

The Experienced Industry Professional (EIP) pathway for CSCR will sunset at the end of 2023.

The CSCR credential is a joint collaboration of the International Society of Catastrophe Managers (ISCM) and the CAS Institute (iCAS). The EIP pathway allows cat risk and cat modeling professionals with 5+ years of experience to earn the CSCR through an application process based on experience in lieu of examinations. The EIP option was offered when the credential launched to build awareness and excitement for the cat risk management profession. Now that CSCR has grown and the exam pathway has been available for several years, the EIP pathway will be retired.

The deadline to apply for the EIP pathway is December 31, 2023. We encourage all candidates to plan ahead and submit applications early to avoid the year-end rush.

The CSCR EIP application is open to all individuals practicing catastrophe risk management around the globe. Applicants must be nominated by a current or previous manager or a Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP) credential holder.

Starting January 1, 2024 the CSCR will be offered solely through the examination pathway.

The Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP) credential, for advanced practitioners, will continue to be offered through the EIP pathway and Technical EIP pathway at this time.

Thank you to the community for your support of the profession and for embracing the CSCR and CCRMP credentials. If you are interested in attaining the CSCR, please consider submitting your application before the December 31 deadline, and share this information with anyone in your network who may also be interested.

If you have any questions about the credential program or the application process, please contact us at

How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials