Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA) Credential Rolls Out from The CAS Institute

October 19, 2016

ARLINGTON, Va. — The CAS Institute (iCAS), a new subsidiary of the Casualty Actuarial Society that offers specialty credentials for quantitative professionals, has launched registration for its first offering, the Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA) credential.

CSPA credential requirements are described on the new website at TheCASInstitute.org. Registration for the first credential requirement, “Property-Casualty Insurance Fundamentals,” is now open. This course is administered by our strategic partner, The Institutes, and covers the core principles underlying property and casualty (P&C) insurance and risk management.

Availability of registration for the remaining CSPA requirements in 2017 are indicated in the table below. Overall, the CSPA requirements include:

CSPA Credential Requirement Availability
1. P&C Insurance Fundamentals (required course and exam) Online Course now open
Exam offered starting mid-January 2017
2. Data Concepts, Tools & Analysis – with P&C Applications (optional course and required exam) Online Course opens mid-January 2017
Exam offered starting mid-April 2017
3. Predictive Modeling – Methods and Techniques (required exam) Study Materials available mid-April 2017
Exam offered starting mid-July 2017
4. Case Study Project: P&C Predictive Modeling Application (completion of a required project) Project assignments available starting mid-July 2017
5. Online Course on Ethics and Professionalism (required course; choose among two offered courses) Now available on-demand through The Institutes

Waivers for the first course and exam requirement and for the ethics course, are available for eligible Fellows and Associates of the Casualty Actuarial Society.

Details about The CAS Institute’s charter membership program and other membership benefits will be announced shortly.

How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials