Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) Experienced Industry Professional (EIP) Pathway

January 7, 2020

The International Society of Catastrophe Managers (ISCM) and The CAS Institute (iCAS) have announced an Experienced Industry Professional (EIP) pathway for the Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk credential.  This pathway will allow cat risk and cat modeling professionals with 5 or more years’ experience an opportunity to earn the CSCR through an application process rather than through examinations*.

Experienced individuals interested in earning the CSCR should have either their manager or a Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP)** recommend them by completing and submitting the nomination letter template found on the iCAS website.

They will then be provided a CSCR EIP application with instructions. The application requires evidence of their experience, three professional references, and detailed written responses demonstrating their competency in catastrophe risk modeling. Anyway who wants to get started before the nomination letter is submitted is welcome to download the application template and instructions from the website.

Once an application is submitted, it will be reviewed by a committee of experienced practitioners.  Applicants will be notified of the committee’s decision by the iCAS office.

All approved candidates must complete a short application and submit a $350 credential fee, which includes membership in both ISCM and iCAS.

Interested applicants can visit the cat risk credentials website to download the sample manager nomination letter template, the EIP application template, application instructions, FAQs about the credential, and more.

*Candidates with less than 5 years’ experience can visit www.catcredentials.org for details regarding pursuing the credential through the examination process.

**(Cat modeling professionals with advanced risk management experience should consider applying for the CCRMP credential via its EIP pathway.)

How Can I Get Started?

Take these steps to start on your path towards earning credentials from The CAS Institute.

Other Credentials

Certified Specialist in Predictive Analytics (CSPA)

Analytics professionals can earn our new credential to demonstrate their expertise

Catastrophe Risk Management

Professionals can earn one or both of our new credentials